Saint Pius X Catholic Church


The Paschal Candle from Easter 2012

RCIA at Saint Pius X is a very engaging and informative program.  Classes are taught by Fr. Savoie, and a small team of instructors.  All reading materials are supplied free of charge to the participants.

What is RCIA?
The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults is a program through which adults are prepared for Baptism or full initiation into the Roman Catholic Church.  It involves several stages, each intended to assist in knowing the truth of the Roman Catholic Faith and the practices of her Faithful.

Who may participate?
Any adult interested in learning more about the Roman Catholic Church and her teachings may participate in the RCIA program.  One does not need to commit to becoming Catholic to attend RCIA classes, though many choose to do so after learning her teachings and traditions.

What is involved?
The RCIA process involves four distinct stages of preparation in the education of adults.  In order for one to be capable of making an informed decision to become a Roman Catholic, this process is a necessary one.  The four stages are the Pre-Catechumenate, Catechumenate, Purification and Enlightenment, and Mystagogia.  Each of these mark the individual's journey which begins in the fall and culminates with the Easter Vigil, the evening before Easter Sunday.  In the RCIA process one should anticipate a prayerful participation in the Sunday Mass, regular attendance of weekly classes during the evenings, and a commitment of time necessary to reach the journey's climax: receiving each of the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist) at the Easter Vigil.